British-Asians: "I like Hollywood not Bollywood"

Publié le par VD

'I like Hollywood not Bollywood'
Liza Booth
BBC Asian Network
A third of young Asians across the UK think they have to be a "coconut" to be successful in Britain - brown on the outside but white on the inside - a poll for the BBC Asian Network suggests.

Beanish Mahmood and her teenage cousin Sophie, whose family comes from Pakistan, are going on a shopping trip in Bradford, but they cannot agree which shops to visit.

Sophie has earned her nickname as "the white cousin" by her love of Primark and Top Shop, but Beanish insists they peruse the piles of colourful bangles and shalwar-kameez in Bombay Stores.

"Eww - they're disgusting. You'd have to pay me to wear those."

Sophie - like 12% of people in the survey - says she considers herself a "coconut". She has white friends, white habits, prefers Hollywood to Bollywood and is definitely no fan of Asian fashion.

She often changes back into jeans halfway through family parties because she feels so uncomfortable in the traditional outfits.


Hide identity

"Although I'm Asian, I do feel a distance from that culture and I feel around white people I have to fit in with them a lot more," she said.

"If I'm talking to relatives I always complain, 'Why do you have to do things the Asian way? I prefer the English way'."

Beanish describes herself as "the least coconut ever".

"I am a bit disappointed in her because I do everything Asian, so it's a shock when someone in my actual family is more English. I can never imagine to be in her position because I find it too difficult to try and hide my identity."

"Coconut" is a divisive term used by some British Asians, others find it upsetting because it implies you have to turn your back on your culture to find success.

But the editor of Brit-Asian magazine, Rick Parmar, says it is just part of living in the UK.

"People out there trying to make something of their lives do have to adapt to the British lifestyle - if that makes you a 'coconut' then fair play. But we do live in Britain, so it makes sense."

But the trend is worrying many Asians. Three quarters of those polled were concerned Asian culture was becoming increasingly diluted by British culture. Yet more than a third said they did not feel British.


Defend faith

Professor Tariq Modood, from Bristol University's Research Centre for the Study of Ethnicity and Citizenship, is not surprised. He believes the on-going conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan have tested the loyalty of many young Asians in the UK.

"If you don't agree with the decisions made by the government in the name of the British people, then that makes you question whether you belong."

And he believes that in the years since the 11 September attacks young Muslims have had to defend their faith much more strongly, and that has led to many identifying more with their religion than their nationality.

Rick Parmar says he would describe himself as Asian before British, but is proud of his crossover culture.

"This is the way we have to adapt. There's no point in limiting yourself to the Asian group. You should explore. I don't think anyone has to prove how Asian they are, as long as they know themselves."

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article