Simply tired and frustrated of society's attitude towards fat people

Publié le par VD

Simply tired and frustrated of society's attitude towards fat people
By Helen 

 

I am a women in my late 20's, I am obese and simply tired of the attitude of people around me. I fully agree that one should be in good shape and active, but when did it become a requirement for living with respect and dignity in the society. I am frustrated with the attitude of most skinny people against we overweight people. The discrimination against obese people (weightism) is very unfortunate and people should be respected based on who we are and not how we look. We do not want your sympathy, just treat like any other human being.

Since when did being overweight become such a huge problem, whatever I am, is my business and has nothing to do with anyone. People in this world think that people are obese because they simply love to eat and have an uncontrollable hunger problem. There may be several personal reasons behind someone's obesity including stress, medical condition, post-pregnancy fat, genetic or even hereditary. They are already dealing with this problem themselves and they do not want anyone else to aggravate it.

I really feel that somewhere or the other, media and fashion industry is responsible for making us look bad. Media, movies and even soap operas promote people who are skinny and many times people who are mean are often obese. I really do not feel bad about myself personally being obese, but it is the general attitude of the people against the overweight people. I know myself, I am much better than most of regular people who are mean and selfish. I often participate in non-profit social activities and charity. I work harder than most people at my workplace, follow rules, nice to others and even taking care of parents in their old age.

People who are fat have a tough time even in career. Overweight people are often rejected in the interview as we do not give a great "first impression" and even have to often work in low paying jobs. Overweight people are hesitant to visit doctor as even they indirectly seem to have weightism against them. Overweight people are often the target of bullying than the ones who are skinny.

Looks are not everything, Just accept the way we are !!


http://www.weightism.org

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article